Miss Molly Says Good Bye

Dear Followers of Good Golly Miss Molly…

As we said in the 70s, “It’s been real.” When it comes to blogging and websketching, it’s sometimes more like “surreal” and I finally know that I was not meant to get caught in the whirlpool called blogging. This is the last of the Miss Molly websketches.

Lest you think Mr. Snowden and the NSA have influenced my decision to let the Miss Molly site go, it has nothing to do with them. I just find that blogging/sketching is kind of, well…boring. And besides, it clutters up everyone’s inbox.

Thank you for “Following” Miss Molly. I’ve enjoyed the comments and the blog-style banter although there were a few times when some of the “Followers” I heard from seemed more like sales people or stalkers. My blogging guru friends tell me this is just the way of the Internet. I believe that, but I don’t have to live there.

Actually, I hadn’t intended to have a blog/websketch at all, but I bought into the myth that a blog would be necessary as part of my “platform” if I wanted to get published. I now chalk this up to another Urban Legend. I know it’s worked for a few people, but that’s not the kind of publishing I want to do and besides “correlation is not causation.” People are more likely to get published because they have a relative in the industry than because they have a blog.

I wish everyone well with your writing and your families and your hopes and dreams.

For now, Miss Molly has left the building.

33 responses

  1. What a long strange trip it’s been? Sad to see it go but I understand. Will read this later – off to do a gig!

    xoxo Nancy

    1. Not going very far…and I know we’ll be talking…
      Moll

  2. Aw, I’m sorry you are leaving. I’ll really miss your blog and waking up and seeing you had left me a comment always made me smile. Darn.

    1. Hey, darlin’…I’m still following you and will be sending my comments…xoxo

  3. Dearest Molly-
    I will miss your blogs because you have such a unique perspective, and I love your particular brand of humor. Your “take” on a variety of things has given me much to mull. Beside which, I kind of like it that two gals with roots in the scrappy parts of Washington State in a certain era still have things to say! You may no longer be blogging, but I know you will be immersed in interesting projects, and if you are ever so inclined, I would still love to hear from you. Con brio!-as you say!!! (Yes, I have passed it on. :))

    1. Ah, Sheri, my beautiful friend…I agree about two gals from the scrappy parts…We’ll never run out of things to say! Love you, Moll

  4. Oh! It’s been fun, hope to hear from you elsewhere :-) We’ve solved our technical difficulties and roll out here at Sanslartigue, so will be back up and running soon! Stay in touch.

    1. Looking forward to seeing more wonderful photos! And I’m planning to call on Sunday…xo to all,
      Moll

  5. Hi Molly, I have loved your posts and will miss them in my inbox!! But It’s probably time for my stalking of you via your Internet activity to be replaced by a real visit anyway :-) Summer is nearly here and I’m almost free if rigorous class/homework craziness. I would love to come to the city for a visit!!! Can we get a date on the calendar? I am most flexible Mon-Thursday. What might work for you in upcoming weeks?

    Love you dear friend! -Gena

    1. Yes, a real visit is just the thing! I’ll take a look at my calendar and send an e-mail or give you a call. Really looking forward to a visit…xoxo Moll

  6. Dear Molly
    Anything you could say would ever “clog” my mailbox. Every word of yours is important to me and to may others — we look forward to those words as a spot of interest in our otherwise mundane lives. Please do not leave us without this bright spot — find another path, OK, the Newsletter — just stay with us.

    1. The newsletter is going to continue. Miss Fidditch would be on my case if I decided to drop that…! And something else may materialize in the way of websketches eventually…You are a dear to write such a nice message…Thank you.
      Molly

  7. Miss Molly, I hope you are still in the building as I write this comment. Trust me, I know that feeling you have. I have no way to know how I have sounded around here, but here is the last bit of noise from me; actually, it’s Nietzsche I’d like to quote”

    “Where solitude ends, there begins the market-place; and where the market-place begins, there begins also the noise of the great actors, and the buzzing of the poison-flies.

    “In the world even the best things are worthless without those who make a side-show of them: these showmen, the people call great men….

    “Full of clattering fools is the market-place, — and the people glory in their great men! These are for them the masters of the hour. But the hour presses them; so they press you….

    “Flee, my friend, into your solitude: I see you stung all over by the poisonous flies. Flee to where a rough, strong breeze blows!

    “Flee into your solitude! you have lived too closely to the small and the pitiful. Flee from their invisible vengeance! For you they have nothing but vengeance.

    “No longer raise your arm against them! They are innumerable, and it is not your job to be a flyswatter.”

    Goodbye, my friend! And believe it or not, you will be missed!

    1. Uma, dear friend I’ve never met…

      This passage is beautiful and perfect. I’ll keep it close to me. I know you’re headed into your own quieter journey now with the writing, but I’ll be following and sending notes whenever you send your postcards out to the world. Your voice here has been nothing but wonderful. Thank you.

      Carry on, dear friend. You are remembered well…
      Molly

  8. I hear you beginnings bring us to new beginnings etc. I enjoy your shit, however! drew

    1. Thank you! As the song says, “I’ll be around…” And as Eudora said, “Never think you’ve seen the last of anything…” Ciao, baby…

  9. knielsencreatives | Reply

    Fare thee well! Each blog has been a gift. Thank you…. will miss you.

    1. Thank you so much…Maybe we’ll see each other one of these days…
      Molly

  10. Sorry to see you go. I have really enjoyed your blog.

    Terry on the island.

    1. Hi Terry…Thanks for the nice note…I’m not going far and I hope we’ll run into each other again sometime. Stay tuned!
      Molly

  11. Dang…I will miss you and your posts. I am WAY behind in reading some of my favorite people, you included, but I always love your insight and attitude. Take care my dear!!!

    1. Ah, thanks for the kind words…I’ll still be checkin’ in on your site and leaving a comment now and then…
      Moll

  12. It is not surprising that you, Miss Molly, should be ahead of the curve when it comes to discovering the futility of so much blogging; the redundant race to put out content in order to attract “followers.” Let’s remember that we are at the very beginning of this Internet revolution; this online world which needs to be refined. Molly is just one of its pioneers; a beautiful stalk of wheat among so much chaff. I’m one of the lucky ones who will continue to enjoy the privilege of GGMM’s “offline” company and one of those chosen few who get to read her excellent and literary newsletter. I shall see you soon, Molly, and we shall talk, face-to-face, eat stuff, laugh, perhaps go to a museum, exchange ideas and not feel like we have any obligation to “blaaah-blaaaah-blaaahg” about every little thing we do. Thanks, Molly, for setting an excellent example. Your wheat makes delicious bread. pd

    1. You blew me away with this one, honey…I never think of myself as a pioneer when it comes to the Internet, but I love what you said. And yes, we’ll do all those things soon together, face to face with no Internet mediation…Thank you for being out there and for the kind words…
      Love and hugs,
      Moll

  13. Very sorry to see you go, the support was much appreciated :) I hope the nest step brings sunshine and memories :)

    1. And all good wishes to you, my dear…We’re in it together…
      Love, Molly

  14. Thebeerchaser will miss you although the blog made is possible for us to ultimately meet over coffee. I will continue to follow your newsletter and see you when I come to Seattle. Your writing and sense of humor are inspirational.
    Don

    1. Thanks so much…Yes, it did get us together and I know we’ll be seeing each other now and then. The newsletter will continue!

      Moll

  15. I’m so far behind! I hate to see you go : (. Booooo. You’ll be missed!

  16. I am at a similar place; writing is much like taking on a persona.
    We take off one mask only to put on another.
    I have stopped posting on tocksin but will answer to comments and I have started another blog though this time I am not going to follow people nor will I concern myself with counting my likes; this new blog excites me because i am writing solely about mediation.
    I trust you will resurface but with new energy and new insight as to how to move forward because in some deeper sense blogging is essential. Cheers my friend!

    1. All the best, my friend, in your own work and words. The core at the center is the part we must tend, and only we can really know what that is for ourselves. Distractions and detractors have no place in itt. Joy to the Word!
      Molly

      1. Distractions and detractors are the bread and butter of writing; without them we would be without content.
        I am thinking about starting ten bogs all going in the opposite direction. It seems we are not one person but many voices trying to speak at once and blogging is really a form of journaling. Parts of me wants to discuss things apart from other parts of me. Presently, I am trying to unify those disparate parts.
        And for me that means working in my yard trying to make things more appealing as regards my view of the world.
        Joy is the world!

  17. Hi Miss Molly, thank you for visiting and commenting on my poetry. I feel that I am just getting to know you, and now you’re leaving. I will check out the other blogs you mentioned as well. All the best for 2014. ~ Dennis

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

